According to the Spring 2004 Strategy Guide, the Prime Element table on page 30, shows the "Rock, Paper, Scissors" effect of the elements in Final Fantasy.
I think this chart clears up the whole "Damage Over Time" (DoT) spell controversy.
Also my experience in watching the Battle Spam in parties seems to show the same flow of elements.
These Spells are as follows;
DIA (DEF down effect)
BIO (ATK down effect)
BURN (INT down effect)
FROST (AGI down effect)
CHOKE (VIT down effect)
RASP (DEX down effect)
SHOCK (MND down effect)
DROWN (STR down eefect)
Charts reads as follows;
Light Cancels Dark
Dark Cancels Light
Fire Cancels Ice
Ice Cancels Wind
Wind Cancels Earth
Earth Cancels Thunder
Thunder Cancels Water
Water Cancels Fire
so if we replace the Element in the chart with a DoT spell;
DIA Cancels BIO
BIO Cancels DIA
BURN Cancels FROST
FROST Cancels CHOKE
CHOKE Cancels RASP
RASP Cancels SHOCK
SHOCK Cancels DROWN
DROWN Cancels BURN
According to the chart the only 2 spells that can cancel each other are DIA (Light) & BIO (Dark) (although some believe Dia & Bio are based on which ever spell is the higher level stronger one cancels the other & there is validity to that claim)
All others follow the "Rock, Paper, Scissors" Rule (Frost Cannot cancel Burn, Choke Cannot cancel Frost, etc.)
So I hope this helps clear up some things. Please don't rebutt this post with more hearsay & unconfirmed theories. I got this all out of the game rules, if you think its wrong or not entirely correct, test it for yourself. All I know is that when a fellow BLM casts BURN, my FROST "Has no effect" which according to chart, follows the game's logic.
Burn/Frost/Choke/Rasp/Shock/Drown are elemental skill-based spells. Bio is a dark skill-based spell, Dia is a light skill-based spell, and (though not mentioned) poison is a water element, enfeebling skill-based spell. Poison supposedly stacks with everything.
My question would be, can you stack DoTs from the elemental skill-based spells? i.e. Burn & Choke & Shock, or Frost & Rasp & Drown?
There's also some debate about whether level of the spell is taken into account when two conflicting spells are cast. It would make sense to me, and perhaps it's already been answered in the netherworld of the forums. I've yet to find it though
There's another quick post in the same forum that addresses both concerns, but again I don't know about it's validity. From a fellow named Seedling:
You can have one of each slot on a mob:
Dia(ga) < Bio < Dia II < Bio II
Poison(ga) < Poison(ga) II
Burn - Choke - Shock (INT - VIT - MND)
Frost - Rasp - Drown (AGI - DEX - STR)
Burn - Rasp (INT - DEX)
Frost - Shock (AGI - MND)
Choke - Drown (VIT - STR)
Foe Requiem < II < III < IV < V < VI
If that's true then my first question seems to be yes with various combinations. I've yet to see anything about it being tested though. Anyone with any experience in the area? The logic appears sound, anyway.